Top Ten Tuesday! (TTT #5)

tuesWelcome to yet another Top Ten Tuesday! This book meme is hosted by the lovely people over at The Broke and Bookish and this week’s topic is:

Top Ten Books I was Forced to Read.

290979507157686718255233093

Reason #1 why I envy other countries’ educational system is because they are forced to read books in their English/Literature classes. The Philippines don’t have that, sadly. We only read the short stories on textbooks maybe because providing copies of novels are expensive for the Government, so I wasn’t forced to read much. For this Tuesday, I only have five books on my list.

 #1 War and Peace by Leo Tolstoy
OMG probably the most boring book ever? Sorry if you love it but I sure as hell didn’t. I loved Anna Karenina, but this one I couldn’t bring myself to even like. I read this because of a dare. Someone said I couldn’t read a book that thick so yeah I guess I was ‘forced’ to prove them wrong.

 #2 Wuthering Heights by Emily Bronte
I was forced to read this because of a report during my junior year. Had to buy my own copy but it was well worth it. This is one of my most favorite books of all time.

 #3 Atonement by Ian McEwan
Forced to read this because my godfather gave it to me and I felt like it would be impolite not to? I liked it very much though. A +

 #4 Oliver Twist by Charles Dickens
See reason for #3 except I didn’t like this book as much. It was just okay.

#5 The Cat in the Hat by Dr. Suess
This is my niece’s favorite book and she’s like, 5 years old. Sometimes I read this to her before her bed time until I found myself unable to stop even when she already fell asleep. I liked it though. :D


So that’s it for me this week! How about you? Leave me links and comments and let’s talk! Happy reading!

lkcmd

13 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday! (TTT #5)

  1. I haven’t been so brave to tackle the massive edifice that is War & Peace. Having read some shorter, similar books–what is it with depressing Russian literature?–I know I wouldn’t enjoy it.

  2. Pingback: Top Ten Books I was “Forced” To Read | Cooking and Composition

  3. I think it is interesting to see how different educational systems approach things like reading. The program I was in required a lot of reading, even by American standards. I think I have at least 30 books that were purchased because they were required reading in high school. I don’t even want to know what my parents spent on them.

    • That would’ve been so much fun though I’m sure it did cost quite a fortune. I guess I really want the system to change here and the kids be forced to read, because so few Filipinos are book lovers, mainly because we’ve got bigger issues to worry about and more important needs to spend cash on, being a third world country and all. But I’m hoping the government finds a way. Books are portable magic! And I want more people to experience that, if possible. It’s not gonna happen anytime soon though, unfortunately. Sigh.

  4. At least, you were forced to read some of the famous classics. I never got the opportunity you know because our teachers are just hellbent on making us read infamous short stories from the textbook. If we were just given the chance to read some of these, I think my overall impression about classics would be positively different. Except for Oliver Twist, Sherlock Holmes and LOTR, I really hate classics. I just can’t get into the archaic writing. If you’ve seen my GR profile, you will notice that Pride and Prejudice has been sitting on my Currently Reading Shelf for months now.

    I am still looking for that maximum drive to make me pick it up again.

What are your thoughts on this post? Comment and share them with me!

