It’s Top Ten Tuesday!

tues

Originally hosted on The Broke and Bookish

Today’s Topic: Top 10 things that make our life as bloggers easier/better

  • Goodreads – Goodreads helps me a lot when I’m doing book-hunts and book reviews. It’s my blurb source and my author’s page source. I also like reading feedbacks from people about books that I’ve read or plan to read. Plus, I love the sense of community and it makes it easier to find people who I have common interests with. Thanks, Goodreads!

  • Kobo – Kobo is the app that I use on my android tablet to read books in .epub format. Ever since I’ve installed it, I’ve fallen in-love with it. It’s a very user friendly app and it makes reading easier, plus it helps me keep track of how much time I’ve spent reading a book. And it gives you awards! I love awards.

  • Giant purses/sling bags – I never carry small purses because I can’t put a book in them, so thank God for fashionable giant purses and the ever reliable sling bags. You can never know when you’ll need a reading fix, so you should always carry a good book with you.

  • WordPress! – I’ve honestly tried every blogging site and still, I go back to WP in the end. It’s just more manageable and user-friendly. Thanks WordPress for providing me with the best blogging platform!
  • My Android Tablet – Without this I would never be able to use Kobo, so I guess I should include my ever reliable android tab.
  • Photoshop – Star templates, banners, post graphics. You name it. I do it on my Photoshop CS 5. I have no money to pay an actual blog designer as of the moment, so Photoshop is my partner in crime.
  • Understanding Parent – My dad is the one who finances my expensive book hobby. Books are not cheap, especially where I live, since we’re part of the third-world country bracket. But my dad always makes sure to buy me books if he has some extra cash. I can’t even begin to tell you how much I appreciate that.
  • Google Calendar – I’d be lost without this. I tend to not pay attention to the time or day, but since I began blogging I had to take note of these things. Google Calendar helped me keep on track and remember deadlines.
  • My Honest Review Policy – This is my rock and my only standard. Some reviewers tend to give high ratings when given ARCs for the mere reason that the copies were given to them free of charge, so they feel like they owe the author/publisher. My Honest Review Policy helps me remember that I’m reviewing these books for my readers, not for the ones who gave me the free copy.
  • My readers! – I don’t have a cult following (yet. haha!) but I do have some appreciative followers that I can’t thank enough! They help to keep me going, no matter how exhausted I am. If not for the people who like and comment, I probably would have stopped doing this permanently. So thank you, thank you, thank you!

pencil008

How about you? What are the things that made your book-blogging easier? Share your thoughts with me! I’d love to hear them. ♥

4 thoughts on “It’s Top Ten Tuesday!

  1. Books, Tea & Me says:

    Great list! I’m also in love with WordPress and can’t imagine ever trying anything else. It’s my rock.
    And your dad is so sweet! I wish my parents funded my love of reading. Sadly, they stopped years ago.

    • Tara Ho says:

      Thank you! Other blog platforms are just too complicated or too simple! And yes, he is. I guess that’s because it’s just the two of us. =) Thank you for dropping by.

    • Tara Ho says:

      Yes, it does! Sometimes it gets picky so I have Moon Reader as back up, but that rarely happens. The Kobo desktop app doesn’t read epubs tho, so on my computer I have Adobe Digital Editions. :)

      Thank you for dropping by! I’ll be sure to check out yours! x

What are your thoughts on this post? Comment and share them with me!

