It’s Top Ten Tuesday! (TTT #4)

tues

Top Ten Tuesday is a book meme hosted weekly at The Broke and Bookish. This week’s topic is:

“Top Ten Best Sequels Ever”

My picks for this week are (in no particular order):

95939111. Pandemonium by Lauren Oliver – Delirium was good, but Pandemonium was much better. It introduced as to The Wild and to Raven and Tack and of course, to Julian Fineman. Lena really grew into herself as she learned to survive without Alex in her life and the plot became a lot broader than in Delirium. My only complain about this book is that bloody ending which I was hoping would be resolved in Requiem. Still furious that it wasn’t. (Lauren Oliver, why do you do these things to us?!)

__________________________________________

12507214 (1)2. Girl of Nightmares by Kendare Blake – The ending of Anna Dressed in Blood left me completely bereft and aching. ‘OMG ANNA, COME BACK!’ I yelled at the top of my lungs while my face was squashed into a pillow. I really hoped and prayed and begged to anyone who would listen for the sequel to at least match the amazingness of the first book, and Kendare Blake did not disappoint. Girl of Nightmares was unexpectedly better and the ending was just more than I could ask for. It was just perfect.

__________________________________________

140619553. Siege and Storm by Leigh Bardugo – It’s be a LONG time since I last read a good fantasy novel and Shadow and Bone solved that issue for me. I cannot believe I’ve been putting it off for ages! Siege and Storm complimented the first book really well, plus it introduced us to Stormhund a.k.a. Nikolai Lantsov and omg *swoons like a hormonal teenager*. This sequel is fast paced and action packed and it was undoubtedly one of my best reads for this year.

__________________________________________

103273034. Uncommon Criminals by Ally Carter – I love love love Heist Society and Uncommon Criminals made me love it all the more. Ally Carter and her superb writing and eye for detail just draws you in like a moth to a flame. The heists were riskier and more dangerous in this sequel and the stakes are definitely higher, but what I loved most are the characters who are little by little showing us readers just how complex they truly are. This sequel is A+

__________________________________________

66543135. Linger by Maggie Stiefvater – This book totally floored me. Reading it was effortless despite all the conflicting emotions it triggered. The characters were vivid and so perfectly human that it was hard not to love them. The romance was bitter-sweet and the tension in the atmosphere was so palpable it was almost a living thing. This books makes you feel. It doesn’t just tell you, it shows you. The same goes for Shiver, but Linger was a very unforgettable sequel for me.

__________________________________________

97030976. He’s So Not Worth It by Kieran Scott – Dude. Summer on the beach, rich kids, romance, angst, and drama – asdfghjkl. This book was perfect in terms of supporting the first installment, She’s So Dead To Us. I honestly love to read about teenage angst once in a while and this book gave me that and more without being whiny and superficial and cringe-inducing. If you’re looking for something entertaining to pass the time, you should try reading this series and maybe fangirl with me after :D

__________________________________________

15801763_thumb.jpg7. Untold by Sarah Rees Brennan – One of the biggest book revelations last 2012 for me was Unspoken. I did not expect to like it but I fell in-love with it and with the unique snowflake that is Kami Glass. Untold smoothly picked up where Unspoken left off and although this sequel isn’t as perfect as I would’ve liked it to be, it was good enough to bombard me with feels after feels after feels. My love for Kami eclipses all and I still kinda dislike Jared. I love their story, though. It made me cry for more times than I care to count.

__________________________________________

a-clash-of-kings-book-review8. A Clash of Kings by George R.R. Martin – Pain and heartbreak on repeat. I am quite convinced that George R.R. Martin is secretly Satan. All my illusions that things can get better for the Stark Children after suffering through the majestic torture device that is A Game of Thrones was shattered and completely annihilated by this book. My inner sadistic was rejoicing because of all the blood and chaos in this terribly beautiful and brilliant sequel, but dear God. My feels were left raw and aching because of two words: SANSA STARK

__________________________________________

61480289. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins – Just when you think it couldn’t possibly get any better, Suzanne Collins pops out of nowhere and proves you wrong. The Hunger Games was literally one of the best books I’ve ever read, but Catching Fire toppled all expectations and emerged on top of it and no one even guessed it would turn out like that. Katniss is definitely a class all on her own and reading about her makes me want to be like her. I cannot wait for the movie to come out and I’m sure that every fangirl in the world feels the same.

__________________________________________

228213310. Frostbite by Richelle Mead – If you haven’t read the Vampire Academy Series yet, I don’t know what you’re doing with your life. You’re seriously doing it wrong and this is the time to do something about it, pronto. VA is one of those series that is consistent with getting better and better and better book after book. It draws you in and never lets you go. The plot and the characters are multi-faceted and the action is heart-pounding and seriously I cannot recommend it high enough.

__________________________________________

That’s it for this Tuesday! Wheew, it was hard to pick from the many sequels that I’ve read, but it was a lot of fun, too! What are your picks for this week? Leave me links and comments and let’s talk!

Happy reading! xoxo ♥

lp,m

8 thoughts on “It’s Top Ten Tuesday! (TTT #4)

  1. Elizabeth says:

    Aghhhhh I am so nervous to read Untold! Unspoken took me completely by surprise too! But I’ve not really seen any happy reviews about Untold the way I had about Unspoken :(….BUT my copy is in the bookstore tomorrow so yay! ….if I pre-ordered a book for the first time since Harry Potter and am not in love, I am going to be rather….disappointed (well, that would be an understatement, but I’m a bit old to throw tantrums)

    • thecrazybookworm says:

      Aaaah so glad to find another person who loved Unspoken! Untold might not be what you expected (remember all those snippets given to us by Sarah? they were kind of misleading) but I really hope you like it! I won’t spoil it for you but let me just say that the Kami-Jared feels were intense. Looking forward to hear your thoughts when you finished reading Untold! ^_^

  2. Stacey says:

    I posed today a blog about the Delirium series and your blog popped up under the ‘recommended link’s on the post page. I am so happy to hear someone else is disappointed with the ending of the trilogy. As I put the book down Lauren Oliver had be thinking ‘this can’t be it surely, is there another?’
    It was such a messy book with a lot of story lines still open for further development. Definitely a disappointment to what was otherwise a great series.
    I also bought the book ‘he’s so not worth it’ the other day. After your review I am definitely looking forward to reading it.
    I’ll be posting a lot more book reviews in the future if you’d like to keep an eye out, maybe I may inspire you to add more novels to your reading list; http://alotofsweetnothing.wordpress.com

    • thecrazybookworm says:

      Right? I loved Pandemonium a lot! There were so many issues that were building up and I wanted so so bad to see how Oliver would wrap it all up. But she totally blew it in Requiem. It was like she bit off more than she could chew. So many conflicts were left hanging and we weren’t given any solid conclusion! It was very disappointing in deed.

      I love the She’s so/He’s so series. How did you find She’s So Dead To Us? And I will be sure to check out your blog! Thanks for dropping by! x

What are your thoughts on this post? Comment and share them with me!

