Lipstick Adventures of The Crazy Bookworm

Hi.

You probably wonder what I do when I’m not drowning in feels while reading books, and honestly the answer to that is not much. My social life is still a bit sparse and wanting, but work is cool because I get to watch Jessica Jones when I’m not answering email inquiries.

But another thing that I obsess over aside from books would be… lipsticks.

I am a big fan of bold shades, which thankfully work for my yellow-tinged Asian skin. I’m in no way a make-up expert but I love being adventurous when it comes to lip colour.

Today, I’ll show you two of my recent purchases which I’m really happy about! I’ve been wearing these two shades alternatingly (is there such a word? I’m not sure) since I bought them, and I couldn’t be happier with the results.

12278174_1505876329739925_1917327119_n

NYX Butter Lipstick in Moonlit Night shade

I’ve never bought any NYX products before this one, mostly because I bought exclusively local brands before deciding to try out this particular shade (which was not available in my local brand, Ever Bilena, at that time). Needless to say, it’s quite surprising how it worked with my skin tone. I never thought it would match that well!

Photo on 26-11-15 at 4.26 am

PROOF.

Know what I mean? Okay.

Not only is it a good match with my skin tone, it’s also very creamy and has a velvety matte finish. The colour stayed put until the end of my shift, and though I had to re-apply after eating, all it took was two swipes to get the colour back to the intensity I wanted (which was very intense). It also didn’t dry my lips at all, which is a pretty great bonus!

Moving on, my next happy purchase was actually just inspired by the last one, but also by this BuzzFeed article that I’ve read which mentioned this product and swore by it. It’s allegedly long-lasting and comes in pretty colours. At first, I didn’t know how to get ahold of it since I’ve no idea if they sell it here in the PH, but then I found that they have an official distributor here! So I bought it for the reasonable price of PHP320.oo.

12312558_1507232362937655_545959281_n

Tada! Wet N Wild Megaslicks balm stain in Lady and The Vamp.

Surprisingly enough, it worked well with my skin tone too:

12305597_1507232376270987_2070444036_n

Such pout. Very lips.

Not only that. It’s very easy to apply and the colour spreads evenly without me having to put on an obscene amount. It also feels a little tingly on the first application. Almost like minty? And then it wears out eventually and I get this really creamy finish. It’s a little shiny at first, but not like gloss. I’ve been drinking apple juice since I’ve put it on but it hasn’t faded at all, which I think is a good sign.

Overall, I’m very happy with these purchases and I’m so glad I’ve made them! Lipstick has always been a key ingredient in my confidence with going out and talking to people so good ones are worthy investments to me, not to mention that these particular brands aren’t even that expensive, so all the more reason to be happy!

I think I’ll buy more shades from these two brands in the future, and maybe try out other brands as well. I personally like matte and long-lasting tints, and varying shades of RED (because it makes me feel powerful and ready to take on the world).

How about you? What colours do you love? I would love, love, love to hear about your make-up adventures, or any kind of adventure for that matter! Adventures of any kind are generally great, in my opinion.

Thank you so much for dropping by this post about me and my love for lipstick! Leave me a comment, if you wish, and happy reading loves!

6 thoughts on “Lipstick Adventures of The Crazy Bookworm

What are your thoughts on this post? Comment and share them with me!

