Stacking the Shelves #3

STSmall_thumb[2]

Hola! What a week this was. It felt like a year to me. If you guys don’t know, this has been happening in my city since Monday, and yep, it’s a bit traumatic. But I think we’ll be okay soon, although life as we know it had been thoroughly disrupted. That said, I wasn’t able to receive any physical books, but I bought some ebooks from Amazon, and I’m going to tell you about them in a bit.

As you all know by now, Stacking The Shelves is a wonderful weekly meme hosted by Tynga’s Reviews. It allows us to showcase our recent haul no matter what format or how we got it. This week, I participated in a Read-a-thon, so I promised myself to pick up a few stuff from my growing pile instead of adding new ones. I had to buy at least 3 books though, because… well, you know. It’s hard not to.

From Amazon:

ee0efc719d4447c95dffae9b4d30d506Outside, The - Laura Bickle12813630_thumb.jpg

Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell was supposed to be part of my newest book club monthly read for Reblog Book Club, which is the official book club of Tumblr. Sad to say, I might DNF it. Cath’s personality was grating on my nerves from the first few pages, and that’s never a good sign. But I might pick it up again, since I bought it and it’d be a waste to not read it. The Outside is a sequel to The Hallowed Ones, which as you all know is a book I adored. I also got The Coldest Girl in Coldtown by Holly Black after pining for it for months.

From Netgalley and Edelweiss:

cover35747-medium9781451677768

I’ve read Awkward by Marni Bates before and I liked it, so when I saw Notable, I requested it immediately. Fortunately, it came through. Playing Dirty is my first ever approved request from Edelweiss, it’s the second book in Jennifer Echol’s Stargazer series. I could not believe they actually approved this particular request, but I’m glad they did.

So I guess that’s it for me this week! What’s on your list? Leave me comments and links and let’s talk!

Happy reading! xoxo ♥

lp,m

2 thoughts on “Stacking the Shelves #3

  1. Charlotte says:

    Hi there, Tara! Hey, you’re not just a Filipina but a Mindanaoan too. I’m from General Santos City which is ~12 hours away from yours or 4-6 hours by plane. :D Yeah, the attack is all over the news. *sighs* Two of my office friends are also from Zamboanga and like you, they’re also restless. They are torn between going home and staying here for the meantime until everything’s settled. My prayers are with you.

    Back to your STS,yes and yes! I just bought Fangirl and The Coldest Girl in Coldtown yesterday. And wohoo to your first Edelweiss book. The feeling is so exhilarating, isn’t it? Two weeks ago, I also got my first approval from Harper Coll. through Edelweiss. Yehey to us!

    have fun reading! Thanks for dropping by my STS! Most appreciated. And it’s nice meeting a fellow Mindanaoan. :D

    • thecrazybookworm says:

      Hello Charlotte! I’m glad to know that I have a fellow Filipina and Mindanaoan in the book blogging community. And thank you for your prayers! They mean a whole lot. Things have been calming down a bit here in Zamboanga, although it’s still a far cry from normal. We never really had a shining reputation as a city, and now it’s shot to hell because of this MNLF fiasco. God only knows if we’re going to recover from this blow. Hopefully it all comes to an end soon, so your friends can go home and spend time with their loved ones. ^_^

      Anyway, yes, let’s move on to my STS! I hope you enjoy Fangirl and Coldtown! I haven’t read Fangirl yet, but I heard lots of good praises for it. And true, it’s always so surreal to get approved requests! It just makes me feel validated as a book blogger, you know? Yehey to us, indeed. Hopefully, publishers and authors won’t tire of trusting us.

      I hope you enjoy recent haul! Your blog’s one of my favorites, and I’m really glad that you’re my kababayan! Happy reading, Charlotte! And thanks for your lovely comment. <3

What are your thoughts on this post? Comment and share them with me!